Bridges are used by the Transformation Suite to migrate data from source Connections to target Connections. Bridges are created from a source Connection, a target Connection, a Settings Template, a set of Value Maps, and a set of Value Lists

Bridges are executed on Transformation Servers using the Execute Bridge Action.

Migration Guides

Please consult the following guides for specific instructions on configuring migrations:

Source system type
Target system type
Guide
G Suite (formerly Google Apps)G SuiteMigrate - G Suite to G Suite
Microsoft SharePointG SuiteMigrate - Microsoft SharePoint to G Suite
Microsoft ExchangeG SuiteMigrate - Microsoft Exchange to G Suite
File sharesG SuiteMigrate - File shares to G Suite
Box.comG SuiteMigrate - Box.com to G Suite
DropboxG SuiteMigrate - Dropbox to G Suite
Citrix ShareFileG SuiteMigrate - Citrix ShareFile to G Suite
EgnyteG SuiteMigrate - Egnyte to G Suite

Bridge Attributes

Bridges have a number of attributes used to track configuration, status, and results:

AttributeDescription
NameThe name of the Bridge.
GroupAn deprecated attribute. If you believe you need to use a Bridge Group, please email AppBridge support at support@appbridge.io.
State

The current state of the Bridge. Please consult the Action States documentation for detailed information.

Server

The Transformation Server that will be used to execute Bridge Actions. Choosing a Transformation Server from the drop down menu will only be saved if the Bridge is executed.

Best Practice: Select the Automatic entry in the drop-down menu to allow the Transformation Suite to automatically manage the Transformation Server infrastructure.

SourceThe source Connection for the Bridge.
TargetThe target Connection for the Bridge.
Settings TemplateThe Settings Template in use by this Bridge. Can be edited to change the Settings Template, Value Maps, and Value Lists in use by this Bridge.
StartedThe start time of the most recent Bridge execution.
CompletedThe completion time of the most recent Bridge execution.
Transaction SummarySummary of Transaction results for the selected Bridge. Click the document icon to view.
Transaction LogA log of every Transaction processed during the Bridge Action execution. Click the document icon to view.
Execution LogSummary of Bridge Action steps, and any catastrophic failures during service creation. Click the document icon to view.
Run HistoryA list of all previous Bridge executions and the corresponding logs. Click the Expand+ button to view.

Bridge Logs

Please consult the Bridge Logs documentation for detailed information.

Manage Bridges

You can manage Bridges at any time from the Transformation Suite user interface:

  1. Sign into an authorized Transformation Suite administrator account.

  2. Click the Bridges link in the pages navigation tabs.

  3. Manage Bridges from the Bridges list.
Adding a Bridge

For specific instructions on each type of Bridge please refer to the section Migrate with Transformer.

General settings

The following general settings are configurable when adding Bridges:

Setting
Description
Source ConnectionThe source Connection for the Bridge. Data will be migrated from this Connection.
Target ConnectionThe target Connection for the Bridge. Data will be migrated to this Connection.
Conversion MapThe Conversion Map for the Bridge. Settings for this Conversion Map can be edited by clicking the edit icon beside the Conversion Map selection drop down menu.
Start Bridge ImmediatelyIf this option is selected, a Bridge Action will immediately be added to the Action Queue for each generated Bridge.
ServerSpecifies the Transformation Server or Server Group that this Bridge will be executed on. Leaving this setting on Automatic will allow the Transformation Suite to automatically assign this Bridge to the next available server.

Executing Bridge Actions

Bridge Actions can be executed in three ways:

Run

Using the Run Action to execute Bridge Actions will validate every source object with the target Connection to guarantee existence. To execute the Run Action:

  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to Run. 

  2. Click the Run button on the Bridges toolbar.

Note: Using the Run Action will not create duplicates, even if used multiple times. Using Run will ensure the existence of data, and is useful if data has been deleted or moved on the target since the previous migration.

Delta

Using the Delta Action to execute Bridge Actions will execute Bridge Actions incrementally, providing significantly faster performance than the Run Action, and only migrating what is new or changed since the previous execution. To execute the Delta Action:

  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to run incrementally. 

  2. Click the Delta button on the Bridges toolbar.

Note: On the first migration, the Run Action and the Delta Action are identical.

Retry Failures

Using the Retry Failures Action will attempt toremigrateevery object that failed to migrate in previous migrations. It does not crawl the entire source Connection, it will only crawl previously failed objects.

  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to Retry Failures. 

  2. Click the Retry Failures button on the Bridges toolbar.

Note: Using the Retry Failures Action can be significantly faster than using the Delta Action, as it will only crawl and retry the objects that failed, instead of all objects within the Bridge scope.

Scheduling Bridges

Bridge Actions can be started at a later date by using the scheduling functionality built into Plans. Bridges can be scheduled at two times:

Scheduling - New Bridge
  1. Click the Add button on the Bridges toolbar.

  2. At the bottom of the Add Bridge card there is a scheduling section. Configure the Bridge schedule based on the Configuration - Scheduling documentation and your requirements. 
Scheduling - Existing Bridges
  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to schedule. 

  2. Configure the Bridge schedule in the Schedule Bridge card based on the Configuration - Scheduling documentation and your requirements. 

Stopping Bridges

  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to stop. 

  2. Click the Stop button on the Bridges toolbar.

Deleting Bridges

  1. Select the checkbox beside each Bridge you would like to delete. 

  2. Click the Delete button on the Bridges toolbar.

Importing Bridges

Importing Bridges has been replaced by automatic Bridge partitioning. Please consult the migration guides documentation for specific details on how to partition your Bridges. 

If you believe you need to import Bridges by CSV, please email AppBridge support at support@appbridge.io. 

Deleting Historic Logs

Caution: Deleting Historic Logs will delete all identity tables for processed objects. This will remove the link between the Transformation Suite and any previously migrated objects.

If you believe you need to delete historic logs for a Bridge, please email AppBridge support at support@appbridge.io